MCA Online 2021 September TNT CFC QR – First Round Results

Ten players have started the MCA September online CFC rated tournament.  You can join the tournament next Tuesday, with a half-point bye for the missed Round 1.

Bd ResWhite BlackRes
10 Saul Magnusson (1809 0.0)Steve Demmery (2204 0.0)1
21 Peter Baxted (1985 0.0)Jackson Stordeur (1683 0.0)0
30 Geethika Kadigamuwa (1580 0.0)Ibukun Orogun (1898 0.0)1
41 Anthony Boron (1892 0.0)Peter Magyar (1389 0.0)0
50.5Ben Wolfram (unr. 0.0)Blair Rutter (1830 0.0)0.5

MCA September Online CFC Rated QR tournament starts Tuesday, September 7

CFC (Chess Federation of Canada) Quick rated. All players must be members of the CFC.

As it is CFC rated, all players must have a current, unexpired CFC membership. Can be purchased directly from CFC or through Manitoba Chess Association. (see end of this post)

4 round Swiss System tournament

Time control of G 25 10 (25 minutes per player plus 10 second per move increment)

1 round (game) on each of Tuesdays:

September 7, September 14, September 21, September 28 at 8:00 p.m.

Players must be visible on Zoom.  (The Zoom link will be available in the tournament lobby)

There will be no entry fee, and no prize fund.

Any number of half-point byes will be allowed.

New players to the Tornelo platform will have to sign up at Tornelo – Tornelo requires the use of real names – which is part of their Fair Play philosophy. You will receive a confirmation email from Tornelo that you will have to respond to. (Please check your spam folder in case it ended up there).

Sign in | Tornelo

After you have signed up with an ‘account’, you should be able to see a ‘join as a player’ button in the Lobby at the following link:

Event summary | Tornelo

So, that is like pre-registering for a tournament. On the night of the tournament, you have to check-in. Then the arbiter can make pairings being assured that everyone is there and/or give byes as needed. So it is no problem to register for the tournament and not show up (but as a courtesy please advise to You will only be paired if you are checked-in on Tuesday night by 8 p.m.

Please register for the first round any time (any day) prior to 6 p.m. on Tuesday June 8 (the earlier the better). This will allow time for the arbiter to ensure that all players are current CFC members and to use the appropriate CFC rating for pairings.

Let me know if you have any problems signing up/in.

Tony Boron

MCA Tournament Coordinator


CFC annual membership renewals are $25 (contact Juniors $ 17. For new CFC members, the fee is also $ 25 ($ 17 for Juniors), however the MCA will refund the $ 25 (or $ 17) upon participation and completion of all rounds in a future CFC rated live over-the-board event (which are currently suspended during the COVID situation).

Bijou tournament results

Nine players competed in today’s five-round rapid Swiss tournament at the Bijou Patio.  Theo Wolchock placed first with 4.5 points followed by Jackson Stordeur with 4.0 points and Ryne Swift with 3.5 points.

PlaceNameRatingRd 1Rd 2Rd 3Rd 4Rd 5Total
1Theo Wolchock2253W6W2D3W4W5 4.5
2Jackson Stordeur1658W4L1W8W6W3 4.0
3Ryne Swift2225W7W8D1W5L2 3.5
4Ben Wolframunr.L2W6W7L1W9 3.0
5-6Al Macpherson1728W9H---H---L3L1 2.0
5-6Alex Vitolin1204L1L4W9L2B--- 2.0
7John March1072L3W9L4H---U--- 1.5
8-9Tianyi Hoaunr.B---L3L2L9U--- 1.0
8-9Armando Montesunr.L5L7L6W8L4 1.0



MCA Online 2021 August TNT CFC QR – Final Round Results

Steve Demmery (“visiting” from Ontario) won the tournament with a perfect 4-0 score.

Peter Baxted and Ibukun Orogun tied for 2nd-3rd with 3 points.

CFC has rated the tournament

CFC – Tournament (

Bd ResWhite BlackRes
10 Anthony Boron (1890 2.0)Steve Demmery (2169 3.0)1
20 Yanyu Lei (1485 1.5)Peter Baxted (1961 2.0)1
30 Geethika Kadigamuwa (1532 2.0)Ibukun Orogun (1863 2.0)1
40 Ken Einarsson (1762 1.0)Jackson Stordeur (1658 1.0)1
50 Peter Magyar (1412 0.0)Saul Magnusson (1913 0.5)1

Chess at the Bijou!

The Manitoba Chess Association (MCA) will be hosting an outdoor rapid chess tournament from 1:00 to 3:00 on Wednesday, September 1 at the Bijou Patio park (492 Main Street, or just east of The Cube in Old Market Square) in Winnipeg.

Details as follows:

  • 5 round Swiss.  Time control of 10 minutes plus 3 second increment.
  • No entry fee, no prize fund.
  • All participants age 12 and over will be required to provide proof of vaccination.
  • Please arrive by 12:50 pm to enter and to allow for vaccination verification.

Members of the MCA and non-members are welcome to attend.

If you plan to play in the tournament, please text or call Blair Rutter at 204-298-6961.