12th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Chess Tournament starts Friday

By | August 27, 2014

12th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Chess Tournament

This tournament is the signature event of the Manitoba Chess Association. It is named in honour of Abe Yanofsky, the first chess player in the British Commonwealth to be awarded the Grandmaster title.

Mr. Yanofsky, who died in 2000, was a prominent Winnipeg lawyer and city councillor.

Dates: Friday, August 29 to Sunday,August 31, 2014

Location: Room 3L08 – University of Winnipeg 

Prize Fund: $ See below

Format: 5 round Swiss System, Two Sections

Open Section (CFC and FIDE rated)

U 1800 Section (CFC rated)

Round Times: Friday 7:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m

Time Control: Round 1 G/ 110 ; Round 2-5 Game/90 + 30 second increment

Entry Fee: Entry Fee: $ 40, $ 10 discount if paid by July 15

Also, second and subsequent entries from immediate family members receive $ 5 discount.

Free entry to FIDE Masters or higher (Entry must be paid up front, but will be refunded after completion (playing) of all five rounds)

CFC Membership also required (available on site) Annual Fee – Adults $ 49, Juniors $ 36. (First time members – Adults $ 36, Juniors $ 24) -or One-Tournament CFC Memberships for Adults of $ 20; or Junior (under 20)  $ 10.


Rules to be noted:

Anti-draw rules will be in effect (no agreed draws before move 31)

New FIDE Zero tolerance forfeit rule NOT in effect -old rule in effect; players will not be forfeited for non-attendance until one hour after scheduled start of round.

Half-point byes OK, any of first four rounds, limit 2, must commit before rd 2.

Registration: on site, Friday, August 29 at 6:15 – 6:50 p.m., or –

cheques payable to:

Manitoba Chess Association

c/o Blair Rutter

76 Newcroft Rd.

Winnipeg, MB R2J 3M8


or see Tony Boron / Steve de Groot/ Blair Rutter  on Tuesday nights at the TNT tournaments.

If you wish to pay by PayPal – please send an email to chessmanitoba@gmail.com and an “Invoice” will be sent to you.


Prizes will be based on entries – but minimum guaranteed



Open Section: 1st $ 250 , 2nd $ 140, 3rd $ 80

Top A Class – $ 100, 50, 30


U 1800 Section 1st $ 100, 2nd $ 50

Top U1600 $ 60, $ 30

Top U1400 $ 50, 30
Top Manitoban in the Open Section qualifies for the 2015 Manitoba Championship Candidates Tournament.