MCA 2021 April TNT – Online CFC Quick Rated Tournament, Tuesday April 13, Tuesday, April 20, Tuesday April 27

You are invited to the MCA 2021 April TNT – Online CFC QR Tournament, Tuesday April 13, Tuesday, April 20, Tuesday April 27, a 6-round 10 10 online tournament on the Tornelo platform.

This tournament will be quick rated by the CFC (Your standard CFC rating will not be affected).

As it is CFC rated, all players must have a current, unexpired CFC membership.

The tournament will consist of six rounds.

Two rounds on each of April 13, April 20, April 27

The time control will be 10 minutes, plus 10 second increment.

There will be no entry fee, and no prize fund.

Any number of half-point byes will be allowed.

The first game of each night will start soon after 8 p.m. ; the second round of each night will start approximately 5 minutes after the last game of the first round ends.

You will also be required to be visible on Zoom. (The Zoom link will be available in the tournament lobby)

New players to the Tornelo platform will have to sign up at Tornelo – Tornelo requires the use of real names – which is part of their Fair Play philosophy. You will receive a confirmation email from Tornelo that you will have to respond to. (Please check your spam folder in case it ended up there).

Sign in | Tornelo

After you have signed up with an ‘account’, you should be able to see a ‘join as a player’ button in the Lobby at the following link:

CFC annual membership renewals are $25 (contact chessmanitoba at gmail dot com). For new CFC members, the fee is also $ 25, however the MCA will refund the $ 25 upon participation and completion of all rounds in a future CFC rated live over-the-board event (which are currently suspended during the COVID situation).  CFC Junior Memberships are $ 17 (and the same provision for new members as stated above).

Event summary | Tornelo

So, that is like pre-registering for a tournament. On the night of the tournament, you have to check-in. Then the arbiter can make pairings being assured that everyone is there and/or give byes as needed. So it is no problem to register for the tournament and not show up (but as a courtesy please advise to You will only be paired if you are checked-in on Tuesday night by 8 p.m.

Please register for the first round any time (any day) prior to 6 p.m. on Tuesday April 13. This will allow time for the arbiter to ensure that all players are current CFC members and to use the appropriate CFC rating for pairings.

Let me know if you have any problems signing up/in.

Tony Boron

MCA Tournament Coordinator

(chessmanitoba at gmail dot com)

MCA online blitz results – April 8, 2021

Chandrashekhar Iyer won tonight’s six-round blitz tournament with a score of 6.0 points.  Gilbert Perez was second with 5.0 and Marcos Valentino was third with 4.0 points.   Top U1800 was zxcfds with 3.0 points.

Full results here.

MCA online blitz results – April 1, 2021

Jordan Kwiatek won tonight’s arena blitz tournament with 42 points.  Chandrashekhar Iyer placed second with 34 and Blair Rutter placed third with 14 points.  Top U1800 player was zxcfds with 8 points.

Full results here.



2021 MCA 3rd CFC Quick-Rated March Online Tournament – Rounds 3 and 4 results

Tony Boron won the 4-round 2021 MCA 3rd CFC Quick-Rated March Online Tournament with 3.5 points.

Colin Prince was 2nd with 3 points,  Peter Magyar and Blair Rutter were next with 2.5 points.

Round 3      
10 Colin Prince (1892 2.0)Anthony Boron (1951 2.0)1
21 Ken Einarsson (1781 1.0)Peter Magyar (1463 1.5)0
31 Blair Rutter (1913 1.0)Ievgeniia-Diana Furda (1612 0.5)0
41 Cory Ash (1191 0.0)John Klokow (1687 0.0)0
0.5Isaac Wiebe (2219 1.0)BYE
0.5James Hofer (unr. 1.0)BYE
Round 4
1.5 Anthony Boron (1951 3.0)Blair Rutter (1913 2.0).5
21 Colin Prince (1892 2.0)Ken Einarsson (1781 2.0)0
31 Peter Magyar (1463 1.5)Cory Ash (1191 1.0)0
1 John Klokow (1687 0.0)BYE
1 Ievgeniia-Diana Furda (1612 0.5)BYE
0.5Isaac Wiebe (2219 1.5)BYE
0.5James Hofer (unr. 1.5)BYE

2021 March MCA CFC Quick Rated online Tournament – Rounds 1 and 2 results

10 players have started the 4 round tournament. Colin Prince and Tony Boron lead with 2 points.

Round 1      
11 Isaac Wiebe (2219 0.0)John Klokow (1687 0.0)0
20 Ievgeniia-Diana Furda (1612 0.0)Anthony Boron (1951 0.0)1
30Blair Rutter (1913 0.0)Peter Magyar (1463 0.0)1
40 Cory Ash (1191 0.0)Colin Prince (1892 0.0)1
51 Ken Einarsson (1781 0.0)James Hofer (unr. 0.0)0
Round 2
11 Colin Prince (1892 1.0)Isaac Wiebe (2219 1.0)0
21 Anthony Boron (1951 1.0)Ken Einarsson (1781 1.0)0
30 John Klokow (1687 0.0)Blair Rutter (1913 1.0)1
40.5Peter Magyar (1463 0.0)Ievgeniia-Diana Furda (1612 0.0)0.5
51 James Hofer (unr. 0.0)Cory Ash (1191 0.0)0